Email Print Share Tweet Pin It Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers) in Colorado Page Overview New to Colorado? Driving Restrictions If you're under 18 years old, you must follow these restrictions even while you have your full driver's license: You must not drive with a passenger who is under Permits for 15-Year-Olds A teen can apply for a drivers permit as early as their 15th birthday, but they must present a certificate of completion of a Colorado drivers course or The date you see here reflects the most recent time we've verified this information with your state DMV. Source
Please check your inbox (including spam box). THE PLEDGE THANK YOU! We're happy you found this page helpful. For more information, see our Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers) in Colorado page.
Seat belts. If you need to take the written exam, the DMV suggests that you study the Colorado Driver Manual. This means that if you get your permit on your 15th birthday, you will have to hold the permit until your 16th birthday before you can apply for the license.
See a complete list of acceptable documents.Submit proof of your Colorado residence. Minor Instruction Permit The Colorado minor instruction permit can be issued to applicants 16 to 21 years of age. It is an emergency situation. * The only exceptions to these rules are if: Your parent or guardian is also in the vehicle. Colorado Learner's Permit Rules Over 18 Mandatory seat belts By law, ALL teen drivers and passengers must wear seat belts (no sharing!).
Pass a written permit test. Minor Learners Permit Colorado You must have a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age accompany you at all times. Continue reading below to find out how to apply for each type of permit. For the first six months, no passengers under the age of 21 are allowed to be in the vehicle unless they are members of the driver's immediate family.
Curfew. Colorado Driving Laws For 16 Year Olds New to Colorado? Take Your Colorado Drivers Ed Online Approved by the DMV 100% Online - Save Time & Money Available 24/7 - Study when you want Easy to Understand, easier to pass. Get Updates and Tips from DMV.org Submit Back Thank You!
Both permits require spending certain amounts of time taking courses from a Colorado driving school. Generally, this lack of experience makes teenagers more reckless and overconfident in their abilities. Colorado Learner's Permit until you've held your driver's license for 1 year, unless: Your parent/guardian is with you. Drivers Awareness Permit Colorado Enroll in Driver's Ed Check Your DMV Driving Record View Points, Suspensions, and Errors View Driving Record Advertisement Related Content Recommended ArticlesAll is Not OK at the Oklahoma DPS—Major Driver License
Zero tolerance for drunk driving Eight young people die every day in the U.S. this contact form Passenger restrictions. Submit a certificate for 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training with a driving instructor, if you are younger than 16 1/2 years old. Please note, if a driving school opens (any time) within 30 miles of your residential address before applying for your driver license, you will be required to complete 6 hours of behind-the-wheel Colorado Driver's Permit Test
When you feel 110% sure of your ability to act safely and responsibly behind the wheel, talk to your parents about going in for your Colorado license test. If you're under 16 1/2 years old, you must also provide a Driver's Ed course completion certificate. Are you prepared? http://themotechnetwork.com/colorado-driver/colorado-driver.html The new law also states that you are not allowed to have any passengers under the age of 21 in the car with you for the first 6 months that you
Passenger restrictions Teens with a permit: Teens with a permit must be accompanied by a driving instructor, parent, legal guardian or a licensed adult 21 years of age or older (authorized Drivers Education Permit Colorado To apply for a permit, visit your local Colorado driver's license office and: Show proof of your identity. Transfer Your Out-of-State Learner's Permit If you are younger than 16 years old and have held your out-of-state learner's permit for at least 1 year, you can take the driving test
The log sheet must show a minimum total of 50 hours, with 10 hours of those 50 hours having been driven at night. Stop Distracted Driving THE PLEDGE I pledge today, not only to myself but to those I care about, that I will: ‣ Keep my eyes on the road. ‣ Keep my Proof of current physical Colorado address documents Applicable fee Minor permits are valid for 3 years. 16 Years to 17 Years What do I need to do before I go Colorado Drivers Ed Colorado Drivers Education Permit The drivers education permit is available only to the drivers license applicants who are 15 to 15 years, 6 months old.
Yes No Thanks! Are you ready to put your teen in the driver's seat? Filed under: Safety, Teen Driver, Programs Safety Teen/Parent Driving Contract Getting a License Additional Resources Teen Driving Restrictions Fines and Points Tips for Parents Teens - Click here! http://themotechnetwork.com/colorado-driver/colorado-driver-lic.html and 5 a.m.
Download Open DR 2460 Include this form with a minor's learner's permit or driver's license application. Drivers Ed Make an Appointment ◀ Back You’re ready to apply! When it comes to teenage drivers, there are also age-specific factors to consider. It is a medical emergency.
Effective April 23, 2007 - 6 hours of Behind-the-Wheel Lessons before Drive Test: You are required to hold your first instruction permit for at least twelve months and be at least Show proof of your lawful presence in the U.S. If you are driving to and from work, you will need to carry a statement signed by your employer or your parent or guardian stating the time you arrive at and You’ll need to take the written permit test.
This is not a restrictions, but rather a good practice. You must, however, follow these learner's permit driving restrictions: No passengers except for a driving instructor, parent, guardian, or a licensed adult older than 21 years old. Disclaimer: Driving is the most dangerous activity anyone participates in on a regular basis. Before moving on to your full unrestricted driver's license in Colorado, you must complete: 6 hours of driving with a driving instructor, if you are younger than 16 1/2 years old.
Safety rules. The testing requirements for a drivers awareness permit are the same as for the drivers education permit, you still have to take a knowledge exam and a vision test and provide Can be completed online. The BTW training can be administered two ways: you can take 6 hours with a driving instructor from a department-approved school or, if there isn't a driving school that offers BTW
Please visit our Customer Care page to let us know. Must show 50 hours of driving experience (10 hours at night). CO Graduated Licensing Program Age Requirements Colorado Learner's Permit Getting Your Full CO Driver's License Forms The road to your license starts here ONLINE DRIVER'S ED ✓Approved by the DMV ✓100% Site Map Español © 1999 - 2017 DMV.org.
You must not use a cell phone at any time while driving, including for texting. When they change something, we do, too! There is a licensed adult (at least 21 years old) with you who has held their valid driver's license for at least 1 year. Pass a vision exam.